Travel Policy

This policy articulates the California State University's (CSU) requirements related to official University business travel to assure that funds allocated towards travel are appropriately used, property authorized, supported by a documented business purpose, substantiated by applicable receipts, correctly processed for payment, and in compliance with all applicable regulations, including recently enacted Assembly Bill 1887, State Discrimination: Travel, which is effective January 1, 2017.

CSU Travel Policy

Travel Procedures

HSU Exceptions to the CSU Travel Policy

  • Pre-Approval (travel authorization) is still required on all University travel.
  • Pre-approval (travel authorization) is required on all University travel with the exception of local mileage using a Zipcar.
  • Use of State Travel Card for the Concur Travel & Expense program. Exception to ICSUAM 5250.00 | Procurement Cards, click here.

Banned Travel States

The following states are currently subject to California’s ban of state-funded and state-sponsored travel:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. Florida
  4. Idaho
  5. Iowa
  6. Kansas
  7. Kentucky
  8. Mississippi
  9. Montana
  10. North Carolina
  11. North Dakota
  12. Oklahoma
  13. South Carolina
  14. South Dakota
  15. Tennessee
  16. Texas
  17. West Virginia

For more information please review the updated policy ICSUAM 3601.01 | Travel Policy

The Travel policy has been updated to add the Travel Ban Update memo issued by Steve Relyea to the CSU Presidents on April 4, 2019.  A link to the memo has been added to the Resources and Reference Material section of the Policy.